Please Note: You may have disabled JavaScript and/or CSS. Although all website content is accessible, some functionality is unavailable. California State University Fullerton - Catalyst Center - Resources
Shortcut Navigation:

Resources Of Interest

Select Publication Venues for STEM Education Research

(coming soon)


Select Funding Opportunities for STEM Education Research

(coming soon)


Select Conferences for STEM Education Research

(coming soon) 


Catalyst Center History

CSUF's Catalyst Center grew out of CSUF's Center for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Educaiton. CESME was established in 1992 to improve elementary and secondary teacher education in science and mathematics. The Center is a joint endeavor between the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics and the College of Human Development and Community Service and serves to be a focal point for coordinating and promoting collaborative activities among faculty members from education, science, and mathematics as well as for developing partnerships with schools, industry, and community organizations.

In 2009, the Catalyst Center replaced CESME and focus on advancing research in science and mathematics teaching and learning. At this time, the Catalyst Center was Directed by Victoria Costa under the administration of Deans Steve Murray (College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics) and Claire Cavallaro (College of Education).  The Center was funded through the U.S. Department of Education Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE) and championed by the Office of Congressman Ed Royce, 40th Congressional District.

In 2011, Michael Loverude became the Director of the Center, and Barbara Gonzalez and Ruth Yopp-Edwards became Associate Directors. Catalyst also expanded to include multiple faculty members from individual departments. The Center continues to receive support from College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Acting Dean Robert Koch and Associate Dean Mark Filowitz, and College of Education Dean Claire Cavallaro and Associate Dean Karen Ivers.